VMware Cloud Community
mrv1976
Contributor
Contributor

Hardware Recommendation Needed New ESX Server Planning

Hi,

I just got VMware Infrastructure 3 certified, with no prior experience about virtualization and now my bosses think I'm a VM expert and expect me to virtulize are server environment at work. Below is a list of the servers we are currently running and a list of the future servers we plan on implementing real soon. I want to make sure the server I purchase has enough horsepower, memory, and diskspace to last a while so it doesn't outgrow itself. I really appreciate any help anybody could give me. I value anybody experience and don't want to make the same mistakes that a beginner would make with the lack of knowledge.

Server #1

Gateway Saladin 9515 Series

Dual 3.20 gigahertz Intel Xeon

4 Gigs RAM

Windows Server 2003 Standard Edition

Description

Running Microsoft Exchange 2003 & Domain Controller

Server #2

Whitebox Server

Dual 2.40 gigahertz Intel Xeon

2.5 gigs RAM

Windows 2000 Advanced Server Service Pack 4

Description

Running SQL Server 2000, Tigerpaw CRM (Service Manager Program), Great Plains Accounting Application, & Domain Controller

Server #3

Whitebox Server

600 megahertz Intel Pentium III

640 MB RAM

Windows 2000 Advanced Server Service Pack 4

Description

Use this as our terminal server.

Future Server in the Next Month

Sharepoint2007

0 Kudos
7 Replies
VirtualNoitall
Virtuoso
Virtuoso

Hello,

Even knowing the role of you current servers the only way to properly size a new VI environment is do some performance analysis of your existing machines. You need to know how your CPU utilization is on each server you want to virtualize, how much memory is actually in use vs what is installed, what the disk I/Os are for each server, and what kind of network bandwidth each requires.