VMware Cloud Community
pmolina
Contributor
Contributor
Jump to solution

Hardware Question

I've inherited a network with 50 + users running on 2 terminal servers supported by 2 W2K domain controllers, an Exchange 2003 server, and a SQL 2000 server for a printing solution. File serving and VPNs are handled by one of the DCs, Backups by the other DC. The warranties have expired so I finally get to rebuild this.

I'm very new to VMware, but my gut is to virtualize this network to make upgrading to Windows 2008 easier. I have extensive testing to do to make sure everything will work, and no budget for test hardware. So a big ESX server would be just the ticket to run the old network side by side with a test network.

The Dell Sales Engineer suggested a pair of dual quad core 32 gig 1950s for ESX connected to an MD3000i iSCSI san and just rip everything onto that. I would use the one new standalone server they have for management and retread one of the faster older servers as a domain controller.

Is this plan complete suicide, vis performance? What other questions should I be asking? I'm kind of looking at this as creating one gigantic SBS.

0 Kudos
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
Ken_Cline
Champion
Champion
Jump to solution

Moved to a more appropriate forum.

You're looking at only five servers, and from the sounds of it, they aren't overly busy servers. Also, since the warranties have expired, I'm assuming they're at least three years old - which means they aren't real "barn burners". I doubt you'll have any problems with this...couple things to consider: