VMware Cloud Community
dmca
Contributor
Contributor

Hardware Planning

I am new to VMWare and VMWare planning, I am trying to put together a plan for a new branch we are opening for a max of 35 people. I want all our server apps to run off VM's at this new site. I am looking for some advicce on the hardware i am planning on using. In total i can forsee 6 VM's so far and was planning the following hardware:

Servers:

2 x Dell PowerEdge 2950 (ESX Servers)

1 x Dell PowerEdge 1950 (Virtual Centre Server)

SAN:

1 x Dell MD3000i (4 x 400GB SAS Disks)

or

1 x Dell AX150 (with Fibre Channels)

Switch:

2 x Dell PowerConnect 5324 Switch

Up until the other day i was leaning towards the AX150 however i was just told today that if i wanted to leverage VMotion & HA (which i do), then i would also need to invest in a fibre switch as the direct fibre ('loop') attachment to a AX150 from the two PowerEdge servers is not supported for HA. Is this true??

I realise that the MD3000i is not currently supported by VMWare but my understanding is that it will be in December of this year. Does anyone know if the MD3000i supports HA??

Also the switch which i have mentioned, is it overkill for this solution. Would a simple Dell PowerConnect 2724 switch do the job just as well?

0 Kudos
20 Replies
ejward
Expert
Expert