VMware Cloud Community
SuperDave1971
Contributor
Contributor

Dell PowerEdge R710

Good morning everyone. I was wondering if anyone has used the Dell PowerEdge R710 for VM hosting and what is the ration of hosts? I am trying to find a resonable server (cost and performance wise) that could host multiple instances of VMware 4 for a city consolidation project I am currently working on. What are the specs that your company is using?

I am not new to VMware but I am new to this project. I am hoping to provide reasonable examples for consolidation and I was looking at the PowerEdge R710 server.

Any information would be most helpful.

Thank you so much in advance,

-Dave P.

0 Kudos
3 Replies
JasonVmware
Enthusiast
Enthusiast

Hello

THe Dell PowerEdge R710 does perform well and can be loaded up with a good amount of cpu/memory. Some things to watch out for is the memory bug with the NM cpu's which i've commented on:

Also the iDRAC on the M710's give a false positive with CPU utalization but Dell is working on it and there is a work around which I describe in the same article. These are just some things to be aware of but the server can be used and has very good performance.

Also if you are using iSCSI for storage I would suggest 6-8 psyhical nics to get best performance.

Hope this helps !

If you have any further questions just let me know.

0 Kudos
azn2kew
Champion
Champion