VMware Cloud Community
Svedja
Enthusiast
Enthusiast

DRS and new virtualization "migration" technologies

I was wondering if Vmware ESX 3.5 with DRS is going to use new virtualization technologies to leverage new techologies to do a better job at evening out the guest load over the machine that is the best for the particular guest.

With new CPU techologies like Intel FlexMigration you will be able to mix older and newer hardware (to my knowledge) and do Vmotion both ways.

But will Vmware DRS be aware of the fact that new CPU (ie Intel 7300) has better memory handling and put guests with higher memory pressure on these machines.

Other guests are not as memory intensive and migth stay on my "older" Intel 53xx ESX servers.

Not to mention that Storage migration as a technology is already announced in the new version, but I have no knowledge how automatic it will be, with moving diskintensive operations to high performance disks, and lowintensive operations to slower (usualy cheaper) disks.

The next time it's going to be IO virtualization and then something else, so the question is not when ESX is going to use the technology, but how much the system is going to help me maximize the hardware utilization at minimal investment and workforce.

Im my case I use Intel, but the same applies to AMD-based solutions as they have the same technologies on the way.

Tags (3)
0 Kudos
9 Replies
mreferre
Champion
Champion

FlexMigrate (which is not in the current 7300 processors but it will be in the next iteration based on 45nm technology) is going to remove a VMotion constraint so DRS will use it in the sense that it will be able to float workloads around with less limitations.