VMware Cloud Community
donestes
Contributor
Contributor
Jump to solution

Best Practice Recommendations on 64-Bit Vs. 32-Bit

I am configuring a data center for a client and this is my first time working with 64-bit hardware. We're looking at the Dell 1955 blades, 2xQuad Intel 2.66 GHz, 16 GB, probably 11 blades in all. 6 will be Citrix (don't ask), and 1 Oracle, so 64 bit no VM seems the way to go for those.

The other 4 will be miscellaneous production and development, and I want to use VM there. But now I am on thin ice. Do I recommend X64 for host and X64 for guests? Intuitively it seems that if I stay all 64 Bit I should be OK, but then there's reality looming....

What is the safest way to go in this new realm?

Thanks!

0 Kudos
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
dpomeroy
Champion
Champion
Jump to solution

OK, is this the consensus: run 64-bit host and 32-bit

guests, except where necessary to run 64-bit guests

for whatever reason?

BTW, the Citrix rep says they have 64-bit binaries,

but ....

Yes.

View solution in original post

0 Kudos
26 Replies
dpomeroy
Champion
Champion
Jump to solution

Assuming you have the correct hardware you can run 32 and 64 bit OS VMs on ESX. There is no performance problem with running 32 bit OS VMs on ESX on 64 bit hardware, if that is what you are asking.

oreeh
Immortal
Immortal
Jump to solution

My opinion regarding 64bit guests:

Only use them when absolutely necessary (i.e. Exchange 2007).

The reason behind this is, that most (Windows) servers (regardless of being physical or virtual) don't really benefit from 64bit (the same with SMP).

If you really need 64bit the chances are that these systems aren't good candidates for virtualization.

With *nix like OS this is different!

Just my 0.02€

0 Kudos
kix1979
Immortal
Immortal
Jump to solution

64 VMs require a significantly larger amount of memory for overhead. You will not get as many VMs per host running 64-bit vs. 32-bit based on memory overhead.

Thomas H. Bryant III