VMware Cloud Community
babyorange
Contributor
Contributor
Jump to solution

1TB SAS 7.2K vs 1TB SATA 7.2K (DELL MD3000i)

Hi guys,

I'm new to the SAN thing and is hoping someone can shed some light.

I'm toying between using 1TB SAS or 1TB SATA disks for my new DELL MD3000i SAN. Both the disks run on 7.2K RPM. It will be connected to ESX and run "normal" VMs such as Windows File/Print, Exchange, SQL, Linux, etc. Nothing extremely heavy duty.

A. Do you have any inputs on how the performance, reliability, etc would be like between these two types of disks - SAS 7.2K vs SATA 7.2K?

B. With 14 x 1TB 7.2K disks, should I be running as RAID10 or RAID5 to maximise the performance? IIRC, 14 disks in RAID5 will have throughput of 14 spindles, whereas 14 disks in RAID10 will only have throughout of 7 spindles. Capacity is not an issue at this point in time.

C. On a related note, how about 14 x 450GB SAS 15K disks? Will running them in RAID10 be a complete overkill? Or would RAID5 be the sweet spot considering that the disks are already 15K RPMs?

Many thanks!

0 Kudos
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
pdamad
Enthusiast
Enthusiast
Jump to solution

My understanding is that the SAS interfaced drive will be 10 -15 % faster for random io even though the rotational speed 7.2k is the same. This is the difference capability between the fairly simple SATA controller embedded on the drive and the more advanced dual ported SAS controller. So all things being equal the SAS interfaced drive will be a better choice for general use. For archival purposes for example it would make little difference. As you point out the MTBF figures are similar, the drives are probably identical other than their controller.

As far as raid levels are concerned my view is that one of the deciding factors for raid 10 is the problems that can occur with a raid 5 set is the rebuild time and performance hit.