VMware Cloud Community
kellino
Enthusiast
Enthusiast

10G iSCSI or 4GB Fiber?

This may turn out to be an active thread Smiley Happy

We are looking at a new infrastructure to support about 50 initial VMs (production environment), and now that 10Gig Ethernet is supported, I am wondering what the pros and cons are for 10G iSCSI versus 4GB Fiber.

I see this question was raised here in the past, but not since 10Gig support was added in ESX 3.5 Update 1.

Not being an expert, my initial thoughts are that 10G should be less expensive and may even offer better performance under high loads, but this is a bit "new" while fiber is the "safe" and traditional choice and I'm not sure what "gotchas" to be aware of.

I am curious to hear experiences from others and their thoughts about which network technology would be the better choice for new VI3 deployments, hosting production servers.

Thanks!

0 Kudos
23 Replies
azn2kew
Champion
Champion

We've used 10gb NFS and iSCSI solutions and it works great with decent storage gear such as NetApp or Dell Equallogic should works great. Depends if you already have FC infrastructure e.g. fibre switches and backbone already in place, than using FC is relevant. If this new project utilize 10gb iSCSI/NFS is a way to go to save money and easy management and provisioning especially NFS/NetApp deduplication saves 40%+ disk space and support is easier.

Our client hosts 70+ VMs per ESX host with NFS and runs great as well. Just make sure you have redundancy built in for NFS & iSCSI solutions both on NICs & etherchannel switches for failover purposes. If you want better bandwidth management using Neterion 10GB NICs is great as well. I believe there is approx. 30% bandwidth overhead with iSCSI/NFS. There are great best practices and blogs regarding this topic can be view at www.vmware-land.com for details.

If you found this information useful, please consider awarding points for "Correct" or "Helpful". Thanks!!!

Regards,

Stefan Nguyen