VMware Cloud Community
Kaleidescope
Contributor
Contributor

vSphere Client

Hi,

I am just a newbie with vMware, i installed vSphere client ver. 4.0.0 to my machine  and connect with a physical machine with the below specifications, just to familiarize myself how to use and build VMs.

Physical Machine:

CPU: 2x Quad Core

Memory: 20GB

Hard Disk: 500GB

Questions:

1. I build VM (windows 7), thick provisioned, 50GB, when i tried to increase the hd capacity to 100GB, it does show from vSphere client that the new capacity is 100GB. However, if i remote access to the machine it is still showing its original size. Is there anything i missed on this?

2. Can i upgrade my vSphere client to the new version? will this affects my VMs? where can i download it?

3. Is there a way to change from thick to thin provisioned once the VM already build?

4. i try to create new VM and wants to install Windows 10, however, from the selection the highest windows OS is ver 7, can i still use this?

5. was there any proper way of shutting down the VMs?

6. Is vmware tool should be install once?

Thanks,

0 Kudos
7 Replies
ganeshgv
Enthusiast
Enthusiast

Hi Kaleidescope,

Please find below answers for your questions.

1. I build VM (windows 7), thick provisioned, 50GB, when i tried to increase the hd capacity to 100GB, it does show from vSphere client that the new capacity is 100GB. However, if i remote access to the machine it is still showing its original size. Is there anything i missed on this?

Ans:- Once you increased on vSphere level it shows 100 GB but you have see the same size in VM level. Take your server(Windows 7) on remote and click ctrl+r it opens run prompt on that type diskmgmt.msc it shows disks and partitions for that VM. just extend the volume from 50GB to another 50GB finally it show on OS level also 100GB.

2. Can i upgrade my vSphere client to the new version? will this affects my VMs? where can i download it?