VMware Cloud Community
tomtom901
Commander
Commander

vCenter choice

Hi all,

A very generic title, I know. I'm asking your opinion / vision on the design and implementation of the vCenter server. Currently I am studying for the VCAP-DCD certification and in this certification journey, every design choice must be well thought through. One of the items discussed was the choice of the vCenter server. In short, you have 2 options:

1. Windows based vCenter server installed manually on top of a Windows OS.
  2. Linux based vCenter server, which comes as a virtual appliance.

Since the limitations of the VCSA in 5.5 have been raised 100 hosts and 3000 virtual machines, it is a suitable candidate for smaller to medium infrastructures. Both variants have options for either a local (DB2 for the appliance and MSSQL for the Windows version) or remote database. Remote databases have advantages such as usage of the existing MSSQL or Oracle environment (if available), separation of duties, and perhaps the vSphere administrator is not really strong in the SQL field.

Local databases have advantages such as the all in one package that you have with vCenter, with dependencies only local to the system. Using the existing MSSQL or Oracle environment can also be a weakness in the design choice. Outages on the production platform (which could host SQL) would result in the outage of the vCenter server, and therefore a part of the management tools of the vSphere platform.

The Windows based platform can also be installed on either physical hardware, or as a virtual machine. Physical hardware has the advantage that there is no dependency on the virtual infrastructure resources to perform management of the virtual environment. Disadvantages of using physical hardware for the vCenter server is that extra hardware is necessary, dedicated for the vCenter server. You cannot take advantage of snapshots, or move easily to another host if you wish it so.