VMware Cloud Community
Kermitdafwog
Contributor
Contributor
Jump to solution

vCPU comparative to physical CPU and cores

Hi

I am a VMWare admin and was recenlty asked by a customer in our cloud environment to add an extra vCPU to one of their VMs so that it aligned more with the physical counterpart they had migrated away from.  The Physical version had 2 quad core CPUs (running at 1.4Ghz) and the virtual version now has 2 vCPUs (The ESXI host has 2.4Ghz CPUs).  I have since been asked how the two compare and i am struggling to explain it to their project...

The user logs in to the physical machine and runs task manager and sees the 8 cores working away

He then logs into the VM and see the two CPUs working away.  You can tell he thinks the performance wont stack up in ESXi....

How does the two scenarios compare and how can I explain that is comparable in an ESXi environment - and is it actually comparable?

From the way i see it, adding a second CPU to the VM means that, providing 2 physical CPUs on the host are available, instructions can be run on them by the guest so that means 2 simultaneously.

On the physical server, the 8 cores can be utilised simultaeously so how can this ever be comparable?

Or have i got this completely wrong?!  Performance and the rest of it has never been my strong point!!

Any advice or answers on the above would be gratefully received

thanks

0 Kudos
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
schepp
Leadership
Leadership
Jump to solution

Hi.

Each vCPU is mapped to a logical processor, which is a physical core on your host system if you don't have Hyperthreading enabled.

I don't like the physical to virtual comparison, but of course I know it from my customers.

In most cases, the physical ressources have never been used effectively, as the Operating System or the application running on top of it was not able to use for example the 8 cores of the two quad core cpus in your example.