VMware Cloud Community
joho003
Contributor
Contributor

unused/old ESXi 3.5 license wanted

Hi,

i'm a student and want to install ESXi 3.5 update 5 on a old 32-bit dell server to learn and get experience in vmware-software and virtualisation.

Unfortunately there is no way to get a free lincense from vmware, because the 3.5 has reached end of availability.

VMWare-Support answered.

"I would like to inform you that as informed in earlier email that ESX 4.X and prior versions have already reached end of availability on 2013/08/15. Hence, the system can no longer issue license for ESX 3.5.0 Update_5."

I hope that anybody of you has such an old, free and not more used license for EXSi 3.5 Update2 or greater.

I would be very pleased, if you could make the lisence key available to me.

Thanks in advance

Joe

Tags (1)
14 Replies
weinstein5
Immortal
Immortal

Welcome to the Community - My suggestion is if you have 64 bit desktop/laptop install VMware Player and run a free license of vSphere ESXi nested  - there are huge differences between ESX/ESXi 3 and ESXi 5/ESXi5.5 -

If you find this or any other answer useful please consider awarding points by marking the answer correct or helpful
EMILY32
Contributor
Contributor

Hi

Welcome to the communities.

Please get below link and downlaod suitbale one

http://kb.vmware.com/selfservice/microsites/search.do?language=en_US&cmd=displayKC&externalId=100648...

0 Kudos
joho003
Contributor
Contributor

Hi Emily32,

thanks for the answer. I followed the link and it ended in "VMware vSphere Hypervisor 4.1" download center but not in the ESXi 3.5 download/lincense website". So the link didn't work for me. Me last chance is that someone has an free old not more used lisence, which i can get it for free.

Best regards

joe

0 Kudos
Friendbg
Contributor
Contributor