VMware Cloud Community
clipcomet
Contributor
Contributor
Jump to solution

unknown invalid After lightning attack

good morning im haveing troble on geting one of my 2003 server up again after  a storm yesterday where the power was knocked out and now its unknow to the server..

now that im kind of new to the hole VMware im not 100% sure what info there is needed to help so i will post all the info i can think of that can be needed

plz post if you have any idea's or need any more info

many thx up front

0 Kudos
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
a_p_
Leadership
Leadership
Jump to solution

is there no way to add the snapshot manuly to the 12345 that i have working on the base file??

What you need to do to add a snapshot disk to a VM, is to edit the vmx file manually and then re-register the VM. However, starting the VM from the base disk, at least destroyed the snapshot chain. If you are lucky the chain can be repaired without much corruption on the virtual disk! The shorter the VM ran on the base disk, the better the chance to recover.

To repair the snapshot chain you need to edit the snapshot's header/descriptor vmdk file. This can only be done on the console directly or through SSH.

Here are the steps to take:

• power off the 12345 VM
  • right click the 12345 and click "Remove from Inventory"
  • logon to the console or SSH
  • cd to the 12345 folder (e.g. cd /vmfs/volumes/datastore1/12345)
  • edit the 12345.vmx file and replace File+JQ-2fUser server win2003.vmdk by File+JQ-2fUser server win2003-000001.vmdk
  • view File+JQ-2fUser server win2003.vmdk and make note of the CID value
  • edit File+JQ-2fUser server win2003-000001.vmdk and set the parentCID to the CID found in the previous step
  • right click the vmx file in the datastore browser and select "Add to Inventory"
  • take another snapshot and make sure it is created (you should see File+JQ-2fUser server win2003-000002.vmdk in the datastore)