VMware Cloud Community
ktlim86
Contributor
Contributor

there is no more space for virtual disk vmdk

Hi all,

I am new to VMwave Vsphere Client. This morning I have encountered a problem in one of the VM. The error message is shown in the screenshot.

1.error.png

I have managed to solve it by increasing the LUN size. However, I find it quite puzzling is that my affected VM has a lot of empty space as shown in screenshot.

2.error.png

Hence, I do not know what is the cause of this problem.

I google it for this problem and I have managed to find this thread.

https://communities.vmware.com/thread/409042

The thread basically mentioned something about the snapshot. I am not sure if it is referring to this screenshot as shown. If it is, then I find it quite puzzling as I do not have snapshot in this VM.

3.error.png

What could be the other cause? Thanks.

Tags (1)
0 Kudos
8 Replies
schepp
Leadership
Leadership

Hey,

what disk type to you use? Thin- or Thick-provisioned?

If you use Thick-Provisioned, your VM will use the about 300GB (looking at your partition sizes) on the VMware datastore, not matter if the filesystem inside the guest OS is empty.

With thin provisioning, the VMDKs on the VMware datastore would grow, as the usage inside the guest OS rises.

Do you have mutliple VMs in this datastore or just this one?

Your datastore needs space to hold the VMs disks (vmdk files), the size of the RAM of the VM, some configs and log files.

0 Kudos
DavoudTeimouri
Virtuoso
Virtuoso

If you are using Thick Provisioning, your VM take all assigned space during VM creation process and VM free space is not matter at this regard.

You should extend your LUN on your server.

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Davoud Teimouri - https://www.teimouri.net - Twitter: @davoud_teimouri Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/teimouri.net/
0 Kudos
ktlim86
Contributor
Contributor