VMware Cloud Community
pointer_00
Enthusiast
Enthusiast
Jump to solution

"No network Adapters were found"

Hi,

I am new to the VMware virtualization softwares and working on setting up the vSphere environment. I am on the initial stage of intalling ESXi 5.0 and boot up using an ESXi install CD but it throws an error "No Network Adapters were found".

I am using the Intel Desktop Board DH67CL having LAN support:

LAN support

Gigabit (10/100/1000 Mb/s) LAN subsystem using the Intel® 82579V Gigabit Ethernet Controller

Instead of using the default NIC, we can also work with adding some commonly available NIC to the motherboard which is compatible with the VMware ESXi 5.0.would it work fine? If so which one do you recoomend for this purpose?

Any help would be much appreciated.

Thanks.

0 Kudos
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
patrickds
Expert
Expert
Jump to solution

the 82579v drivers can be added to the installation cd, to support your onboard adapter.

check this:

http://www.ivobeerens.nl/2011/12/13/vmware-esxi-5-whitebox-nic-support/

View solution in original post

0 Kudos
7 Replies
john23
Commander
Commander
Jump to solution

It should work..driver will detect the one  (if supported nic is avilable whether its on board or not) and provide ip

Thanks -A Read my blogs: www.openwriteup.com
0 Kudos
a_p_
Leadership
Leadership
Jump to solution

Welcome to the Community,

according to other users in the forums, the Intel PRO/1000 GT is an affordable adapter which is known as working well with ESXi. If this is a lab setup for learning purposes, you may also consider to set this up as a virtual environment on VMware Workstation, which allows you to evaluate most options on just one piece of hardware. See e.g. Building the Ultimate vSphere Lab

André

0 Kudos
patrickds
Expert
Expert
Jump to solution

the 82579v drivers can be added to the installation cd, to support your onboard adapter.

check this: