VMware Cloud Community
tricktune
Contributor
Contributor

new install of 5.5 does not have drivers installed for emulex lpe1150

I installed a 5.5 and to my surprise the driver for the emulex lpe1150 FC didnt get installed. or at least the LUNs arent appearing. went ahead and tried to install the drive through VUP. it says its installed in VUP however I dont see the card under "storage adapters". I also tried to install it manually via ssh. the driver is "VMW-ESX-5.5.0-lpfc-10.0.727.44-1523280". I followed the install directions in the but to no avail. I am not sure where to turn as I am not an expert in this area. I just install ESX and configure VC.

here is also the results of the esxcli

esxcli software vib install -v /tmp/Emulex_bootbank_lpfc_10.0.727.44-1OEM.550.0.0.1331820.vib

Installation Result

Reboot Required: false

VIBs Installed:

VIBs Removed:

VIBs Skipped: Emulex_bootbank_lpfc_10.0.727.44-1OEM.550.0.0.1331820

0 Kudos
24 Replies
rameuniver
Enthusiast
Enthusiast

It is always better to contact Emulex Support Team for best drivers for ESXi 5.5.  Try the following procdedure

1) Download the Driver from

https://my.vmware.com/web/vmware/details?downloadGroup=DT-ESXI55-EMULEX-LPFC-10072744&productId=353

2) Place the Emulex driver in the /tmp directory.

3) esxcli software vib install –no-sig-check –maintenance-mode -d

For Example

#esxcli software vib install –no-sig-check –maintenance-mode –d VMW-ESX-5.5.0-lpfc-10.0.727.44-1523280.zip

4) Reboot the host to activate the new or updated driver

5) If you want old driver (in case failed installation still exists), execute the following esxcli command: # esxcli software vib remove –n –f

You can also very easily upload the offline bundle into vCenter Update Manager

0 Kudos
tricktune
Contributor
Contributor

Thank you for reply

this is what I did and got this error

esxcli software vib install –no-sig-check –maintenance-mode –d /tmp/VMW-ESX-5.5.0-lpfc-10.0.727.44-1523280.zip