VMware Cloud Community
Lackey11
Contributor
Contributor

mounting storage problem with netapp

First I created a NFS stroage share on netapp and was able to add the storage to my esxi host using vCenter.

my problem now is when i view the datastore infor it list the campacity as N/A( or blank) and free space as 0.00B.

I can browse the datastore however when i try to upload a folder or file to it it gives me and I/O error.

am i doing something wrong here as I am pretty new to this.

Thank You

0 Kudos
11 Replies
GreatWhiteTec
VMware Employee
VMware Employee

You have to grant the host permission on the export of the datastore. If you are not familiar with the CLI, sue NetApp system Manager (very nice tool & FREE). GO to export and add the ip address you use to communicate with the toaster. For example if you have a vswitch for public traffice with IP of 10.100.0.0/24 and another switch (VMKernel) for your statorage traffic with IP of 10.106.0.0/24, then you want to add the 10.106.0.x to the export of that NFS volume.

You can also go to the etc$ cifs share and add the permissions that way on the exports file. If you open the exports file use (wordpad) and add the following to the NFS volume

/vol/VOLUME_NAME -sec=sys,rw,root=10.106.0.xx1:10.106.0.xx2

10.106.0.xx1 = host1

10.106.0.xx2=host2 and so forth

If you get stuck, let me know. I'll help you out.

A+, DCSE, MCP, MCSA, MCSE, MCTS, MCITP, MCDBA, NCDA, VCP4

0 Kudos
Lackey11
Contributor
Contributor

Thanks for the tip however on my netapp share I have read-write open to all systems at the moment to test.

I made some changes to my VMKernel ISCSI adapter and finally able to see my NFS volume however, when I browser the datastore and try to create a new folder I get an error msg.

Any reason?

Call "FileManager.MakeDirectory" for object "FileManager" on vCenter Server "vSphere.xxxx.bc.ca" failed.