VMware Cloud Community
QuantumRiff
Contributor
Contributor
Jump to solution

migrate from free esxi host to paid cluster with minimal downtime

Please excuse my ignorance, i am very new to VMware, and am familar with the concepts from other virtualization software I have used, but not some of the termininology, and perhaps that is why my searches are not turning up what I need.

We had been using the free esxi based hypervisor to host some server guests.  These servers run a copy of our database, and are used for reporting applications.  They are also setup with very large, thick provisioned VMDK files (>300GB!).  They have been running great for a year now.  However, we just purchased the VMWare "vSphere 4 Essentials Plus" kit for creating a 3 machine cluster, with some redunancy and other features that we wanted.  We also have a new san to go with it.  We are very happy with the product, and want to move everything to it!

On the other VM guests, running on this host, (and several other hosts, its amazing how they spring up) I would shut down the VM, and use the vCenter Converter to migrate the VM to the new cluster.  At the same time, I would convert from thick to thin provisioning. However, because these guests have very, very large thick provisioned HD's, its looking like they would take 5 hours or more to migrate. (other VM's have moved at essentially 1GB/min)  These reporting servers can go without updates from the master DB for several hours, but the servers still need to be available.. I can't have them down for 5 hours. There are lots of historical reports getting refreshed by end users.

Is it feasable for me to do the following somehow? I am having trouble figuring it out:

• disable DB updating
  • shutdown the guest, take a quick snapshot, then start up the guest.
  • While its running (and not updating) copy the main files, and VMDK file to the cluster (since file changes are going to the snapshot file)