cb122
Contributor
Contributor
Jump to solution

lockdown mode and DCUI

Can anyone give me a beginners guide to the risks associate with:

1) Not enabling lockdown mode on hosts

2) Not disabling DCUI on hosts

I am relatively new to vmware but as I work in risk these findings have been raised in a security healthcheck, I wanted some expert input into just how dangerous these findings are - perhaps in the context of whether they expose the data on the guests residing on those hosts? Please keep answers pretty basic.

0 Kudos
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
admin
Immortal
Immortal
Jump to solution

If you enable or disable lockdown mode using the Direct Console User Interface, permissions for users and groups on the host are discarded. To preserve these permissions, you must enable and disable lockdown mode using the vSphere Client connected to vCenter Server. Procedure 1At the Direct Console User Interface of the host, press F2 and log in. 2Scroll to the Configure Lockdown Mode setting and press Enter. 3Press Esc until you return to the main menu of the Direct Console User Interface. also this is link http://pubs.vmware.com/vsphere-50/index.jsp?topic=%2Fcom.vmware.vsphere.security.doc_50%2FGUID-F8F10...

View solution in original post

8 Replies
admin
Immortal
Immortal
Jump to solution

If you enable or disable lockdown mode using the Direct Console User Interface, permissions for users and groups on the host are discarded. To preserve these permissions, you must enable and disable lockdown mode using the vSphere Client connected to vCenter Server. Procedure 1At the Direct Console User Interface of the host, press F2 and log in. 2Scroll to the Configure Lockdown Mode setting and press Enter. 3Press Esc until you return to the main menu of the Direct Console User Interface. also this is link http://pubs.vmware.com/vsphere-50/index.jsp?topic=%2Fcom.vmware.vsphere.security.doc_50%2FGUID-F8F10...

admin
Immortal
Immortal
Jump to solution