VMware Cloud Community
Varjen
Contributor
Contributor

iSCSI problems, vsphere 5 NFS, solution?

Background

I work as an IT tech at a university research lab and I have a bit of a problem. We have a number of servers up and running today in a mixed environment. I could easily virtualize from the aging hardware instead of buying a lot of new hardware. We have access to several sites in the area where we can co-locate one or more servers.

The idea

The concept I’m trying to achieve is a decent failover/replicated file system solution where we have one ESXi host in each server room with a replicated file system. One server is to act as a primary server with all normal operations running from it and the other is a secondary server to use if the first fails Some of my friends have asked why I just don’t get a SAN instead but I think the cost of have TWO 48TB SAN’s would be staggering compared to my suggestion. Having just one negates the benefit of separate locations, so I’d have to get two.

The situation today

I have two fairly powerful servers (see specs below) and they are running ESXi 4.1 SP1 on internal SSD disks. They have a total of 24 2TB discs in 4 RAID’s. One is a 2TB RAID1 where I have the Vcenter server and one Openfiler server on each of the hosts. The other three is 10TB RAID5 split into 2TB volumes. One of these is set up in Openfiler to act as an iSCSI-target to be used by the ESXi host with a DRBD block synch to the other server. This traffic goes via a dual channel 10 GB fiber and should present no problem. (and indeed does not, DRBD is really fast and stable) The other two volumes are going to be used by a fileserver and should present no problem. However…

The problem