VMware Cloud Community
Erg0m3t3r
Contributor
Contributor

getting a raw hard disk image into a VM

hi,

I am quite new to VMware.... I know what VMware player and ESXi is, and I have set up a whitebox with the demo of ESXi 5.5 and I  have installed the VMware player.

Unfortunately I don't know all of the magic buttons by heart...

I have a not-too-easy taks, for data analysis and recovery attempts  I want to make use of hard disk clones to save some time... till now I worked with physical copies of these disks which is quite time consuming.

So I created two files with linux DD which I copied into an SMB share. One is 15 GB, the other 750 GB

But the one hard disk has a defect FAT / GPT that needs recovery and the other has a file system I don't yet know, and not recognized by Linux.
I am afraid that that "VMware Converter" will touch the content of the disks... but that should not happen.

How do I get these "raw" images connected as an additional hard disk to a VM?

I have two VM, one with Linux and one with Windows 7 where I will try different things and want to attach these disk files for my future analysis and repair.

Tags (1)
0 Kudos
3 Replies
jpsider
Expert
Expert

Right click the VM, Select Edit Settings.

Select the Add button.

Select the Hard Disk option

Select Use an existing virtual disk

Browse to the disk.

Select The "mode" you want for forensics, Independent Non-Persistent might be best

Select Next & Finish.

See how that works for you, let us know if you have further questions

0 Kudos
continuum
Immortal
Immortal

> I have a not-too-easy taks, for data analysis and recovery attempts  I want to make use of hard disk clones to save some time..

Actually this is much easier than you probably thought.
The image type :" thick-provisioned eager zeroed-flat.vmdk" was formerly known as "full dd disk-image"
Actually it is exactly the same !!!!

Lets construct an example so that you can see if you have the same thing in mind.