VMware Cloud Community
johnxgr
Contributor
Contributor
Jump to solution

esx 5.1 phys switch

helo, i am new to this world.

i want to connect one esx 5.1 and one with win 2008 r2 with hp procurve 2800 series.what can i do to connect with switch.configure the switch  ?because i cannot see esx through windows when they are with the switch connected.when they are connected point to point it works.what should i do in switch configuration to work this configuration?

thanks in advance!!

0 Kudos
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
rickardnobel
Champion
Champion
Jump to solution

johnxgr wrote:

hp switch has not any configuration.they are all default and resetted.

Are you sure that the HP switch does not have any configuration? Could you connect through the serial cable or telnet and do a "show run" and paste the result here?

When you attach the physical cables, do you get link on the switch? Most HP switches does automatically fix straight / crossed TP cables, so it should not be the issue, but just to be sure.

johnxgr wrote:

so i have to configure vswitch and then i can connect esx with hp switch?

The default vSwitch configuration on a new ESXi host should be enough for you to connect to any physical switch. If you are able to reach the host with vSphere Client when directly attached it should be enough.

My VMware blog: www.rickardnobel.se

View solution in original post

0 Kudos
16 Replies
iw123
Commander
Commander
Jump to solution

Hi

You will need to ensure the switch ports you are using are on the same Vlan and that your windows server and ESX server (managment network) have been configured with an IP address that is on the same subnet.

*Please, don't forget the awarding points for "helpful" and/or "correct" answers
0 Kudos
Linjo
Leadership
Leadership
Jump to solution

Usually you don't need to configure the physical switch unless you are using VLAN:s.

Did you setup the vSwitch already?

// Linjo