VMware Cloud Community
myvwmare12
Contributor
Contributor

create WAN and LAN on esxi 6.5 for pfsense installation

Hi,

I am very very new to vmware and with multiple tries and spending 2 days I was finally able to install esxi 6.5 Build 7388607.

My final goal is to create pfsense on this esxi 6.5

I am trying to connect a cable from att modem to port 1 on the esxi 6.5 and port 2 to normal unmanged switch.

I did looked at various step by step guide and most of the guide says to create wan and lan connection first before installing and configuring pfsense.

I am struggling to create wan and lan on the esxi 6.5 first. Can you please provide me guide on how to do that? if you can do it with screen shots that will be great.

Thank you for your help on this.

Tags (2)
0 Kudos
7 Replies
bateau59
Contributor
Contributor

Hi,

How about PfSense on VMware vSphere / ESXi - pfSense Documentation ?

That shows how to create LAN and WAN.

Before starting, you must:

* know what DHCP, IP address ranges and NAT mean. No use continuing if you don't.

* have a host computer with at least 2 network ports (ILO/IPMI not included)

* make up your mind on the LAN and the WAN network address ranges. They MUST be different, and not overlapping.

* determine the IP address of ESXi itself. I suggest that you set the ESXi server itself to be in the LAN range, via a static address. It is strongly discouraged to make it use DHCP from pfSense, as the host must be up before the guest VMs (hence: pfSense) start.

0 Kudos
myvwmare12
Contributor
Contributor

Please see my answers below.