VMware Cloud Community
coolgod
Contributor
Contributor

consolidating snapshots from the vSphere ESXi client

We use Veeam BR software for replication on our ESXi. We keep 7 restore points.

Our PROD ESXi has been powered off and kept aside.

On the DR ESXi, from the Snapshot manager i chose a restore point just above the Veeam working snapshot and clicked GO TO

After doing this step, the snapshot manager appears as follows:

snapshot manager.JPG

Now I want to consolidate all snapshots by clicking DELETE ALL.

Please confirm me that the snapshot BELOW the "You are here" will be discarded and will NOT be considered during the snapshot consolidation process.

Thanks.

"Whatever the mind of man can conceive and believe, it can achieve" - Napoleon Hill
Reply
0 Kudos
4 Replies
sebek
Enthusiast
Enthusiast

Delete all does what it says. It deletes all snapshots, not only subsequent.

Reply
0 Kudos
Jayden56
Enthusiast
Enthusiast

Hi

Welcome to communities.

I think delete all snap short should merge all to one .

Reply
0 Kudos
rh5592
Hot Shot
Hot Shot

I tested it, it deleted all snapshots but you will be in the "You are Here" state of your VM.

Regards. ================================================= "If found useful, kindly mark answers Correct or Helpful " http://rh5592.com =================================================
coolgod
Contributor
Contributor

I tested as well.

All snapshots which are ABOVE the YOU ARE HERE are committed and written to disk.

All snapshots which are BELOW the YOU ARE HERE are ignored and discarded.

There are some documentations on VMWARE website which states this but NOT clearly.

I did this in a PROD system.

"Whatever the mind of man can conceive and believe, it can achieve" - Napoleon Hill
Reply
0 Kudos