XP-VM crashes ESXi 5 after a few minutes - see the PSOD below
esxierror.jpg

any ideas ?

0 Kudos
16 Replies
Troy_Clavell
Immortal
Immortal

MCE's are hardware problems.  Are you running ESXi as a VM?  If not, I would check CPU/RAM of the ESXi Host.

0 Kudos
continuum
Immortal
Immortal

Hi Troy
thats not my machine
all I know at the moment is that the ESXi runs on real metal.
Several VMs are running fine but a XP-VM that uses special network monitoring apps crashes the VM.
I provide more data as soon as possible

0 Kudos
Troy_Clavell
Immortal
Immortal

You can check out the below KB, but more time than not it's usually a bad core or dimm within the host hardware

http://kb.vmware.com/kb/1005184

0 Kudos
continuum
Immortal
Immortal

Now I have the vmware.logs and vmx-files used
please download them from here
http://www.sploing.org/temp/vmware.log.rar

0 Kudos
Troy_Clavell
Immortal
Immortal

I'm not too good at interpreting the PSOD's.  With that said, the PSOD identifies a hardware problem.  There should be a zdump file at the /root (assuming you configured a scratch partition).  The zdump may tell us more.  Other than that, I would start running hardware diagnostics on this server.  You may also want to take the zdump and get it to the hardware vendor for them to review.

0 Kudos
admin
Immortal
Immortal

This sounds like AMD erratum 383 - CPU Core May Machine Check When System Software Changes Page Tables Dynamically.

ESXi 5 should work around this erratum by disabling large pages.  Have large pages been specifically enabled for this VM?  I can't get to sploing from within the VMware firewall.

0 Kudos
continuum
Immortal
Immortal

Hi Jim
thanks for your interest
I attach the files I have

0 Kudos
admin
Immortal
Immortal

Yikes!  This is a Bobcat CPU.  ESXi only applies the erratum 383 workaround for Barcelona CPUs.

Try adding the following configuration option to /etc/vmware/config, as this should apply to *all* VMs:

monitor_control.disable_mmu_largepages = TRUE