VMware Cloud Community
johanswa
Contributor
Contributor
Jump to solution

Windows 2008 Network Loadbalancing

Hopefully someone can help.

I am looking to start testing Windows 2008 Network loadbalancing. This will be used as a webfarm. I went through various white papers and forum posts but still have a few questions:

1. I get that VMWare recommends Multicast mode. Windows 2008 gives you two options, multicast and IGMP multicast. Seeing as I am not a networking expert, I am a little worried about switch flooding. Apparently enabling IGMP Snooping on your Cisco switches eliminate this? Is this true, if so do you need to install your cluster as IGMP Mulicast?

2. Do you need to have dedicated network cards for this NLB cluster, seperate vSwitch etc? If not will there be any interference with the existing production network?

3. Is a static arp entry required on your switch? All switches or just the server farm switches where the ESX hosts are connected to?

Some info would be appreciated.

0 Kudos
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
kjb007
Immortal
Immortal
Jump to solution

1. Haven't tested this, but IGMP snooping is what caused problems previously because the switch ports wouldn't join the group properly, so it bears testing if the OS is willing to send out the packets.

2. It is better to use separate vNICs for the virtual IP for the NLB cluster

3. Static arp would be required if the IGMP snooping does not work for the switch ports that will hosts the vm's that are part of  your NLB cluster.

-KjB

vExpert/VCP/VCAP vmwise.com / @vmwise -KjB

View solution in original post

0 Kudos
4 Replies
kjb007
Immortal
Immortal
Jump to solution

1. Haven't tested this, but IGMP snooping is what caused problems previously because the switch ports wouldn't join the group properly, so it bears testing if the OS is willing to send out the packets.