VMware Cloud Community
falken76
Contributor
Contributor

Will deleting older snapshots cause issues for a VM in esxi 6.7?

Hello, I'm just learning how to use ESXI, I have the free version and have had it for about a year so far.  I'm just playing with an ubuntu vm and learning how to do things like setup ssl, run a website, run plex, and other hobby stuff.  This has been a learning process, especially the linux side.  I really like how you can snapshot before you do anything that might break so you can revert right back to the working version.  But now I have a ton of snapshots and I imagine they will eventually consume a lot of diskspace.  Here is a screenshot of my snapshots for this vm:

falken76_0-1661011670982.png

If I delete previous snapshots to the current version, will it break anything?  These are not dependent upon each other are they?  I want to delete about 20 of them. 

Tags (3)
0 Kudos
18 Replies
mbufkin
Enthusiast
Enthusiast

Rules for snapshots:

1. Snapshots are not backups.

2. Snapshots are not backups.

Best practices for using VMware snapshots https://kb.vmware.com/s/article/1025279 

You can delete snapshots independently. No more than 32 in a chain and should not be older than 72 hours. Snapshots are not backups.

Hope this helps. 

a_p_
Leadership
Leadership

Snapshots in VMware products work as a chain, where each chain link contains modified data blocks. Losing a single chain link will - in most cases - cause data loss. The illustration in https://kb.vmware.com/s/article/1015180?lang=en_us explains this.

When you delete a single snapshot, its data will be merged into its parent snapshot (.vmdk file).