VMware Cloud Community
MadMaxToronto
Contributor
Contributor

Why upgrade from ESX 2.5.3 to ESX 4?

Hello Everybody,

I'm new to VM world and I'm very interested in upgrading our h/w and licence from ESX 2.5.3 to ESX 4. I need to put together a brief document that explains why we should upgrade. I've looked around quite a bit for a document that compares ESX 2.5 with ESX 4 but I've had no luck so far.

Does such a comparison exist?

Thank you,

Max

Tags (2)
0 Kudos
10 Replies
sflanders
Commander
Commander

The best comparison would probably be night and day. Since ESX 2.5, VMware has adding support to a wide range of hardware and have implemented many features such as fault tolerance. What does your ESX 2.5.3 environment consist of (i.e. hosts, VMs, network, storage, etc)?

Hope this helps! === If you find this information useful, please award points for "correct" or "helpful". ===
0 Kudos
Datto
Expert
Expert

Datto's Top Ten Reasons to upgrade from ESX 2.5.3 to ESX 4.0/VSphere:

Off the top of my head here's what I can come up with in 120 seconds

1) Thin Provisioning of virtual disks with GUI management -- shrinks the size of virtual disks -- this could save you considerable SAN dollars and reduce the amount of space that a virtual disk requires

2) NFS and iSCSI shared storage capability in addition to the Fibre storage of ESX 2.5.3 -- NFS and iSCSI is less expensive for lab setups if you're using a lab and many people are using iSCSI and NFS for VM storage

3) VMware HA -- if one ESX host goes down, the other ESX hosts in the cluster get the VMs back up and on-line automatically

4) Distributed Resource Scheduler (DRS) -- load balances your VM activity across multiple ESX hosts by automatically VMotioning VMs to the least loaded ESX hosts--allows better thruput performance for VMs

5) VCenter Alarms -- many pre-built alarms to allow you to get automatic notice if something bad starts to happen with your virtual environment