VMware Cloud Community
efeurich
Enthusiast
Enthusiast

When running Log Browser ESXi Crashes

Hi I am pretty new to VMWare and ESXi with vSphere Web Client.

Lately i have been having some performance issues with my ESXI server. I wanted to investigate the logs and went to Host TAB in the Web Client and clikked Log Borwser and Retrieve now.

After several minutes the system was not responding and after walking to the server I saw that there was a crash.

Now I want to investigate what the hel is wrong but I don't know where to start.

I have investigated some log file but can't seem to find it.

I am using ESXi 5.5

Can anyone point me in the right direction?

Thanks in advanced.

Eric

0 Kudos
14 Replies
zXi_Gamer
Virtuoso
Virtuoso

You can post the PSOD Screen and take vmsupport and in the file you can find vmkernel.log file which was captured during the PSOD. The file can give you more insight what happened before and during the crash. You can upload it too, if you want multiple eyes to look at it :smileycool:

0 Kudos
efeurich
Enthusiast
Enthusiast

Thanks for the reply and the direction.

Attached you'll find the vmkernel.log. AS far as I can see there are problems with the SCSIDviceIO

I can't attach the PSOD because I didn't catch the screen and I don't want to make the system crash again actually :smileyconfused:

0 Kudos
zXi_Gamer
Virtuoso
Virtuoso

I don't want to make the system crash again actually

Actually, if it crashes more, then there are better chances to root cause it Smiley Happy rather than to await an unexpected crash at critical time.

Attached you'll find the vmkernel.log

during crash or reboot, the vmkernel.log would be rotated, so the attached vmkernel.log would have only the details of the system as of booted and would not contain much information on the crash.

1. Check under /var/core

2. If you find a ***zdump.1 file, then

3. vmkdump-extract -l *** zdump.1

4. There you will get a vmkernel.log.1 file.

5. Can you upload that file?