VMware Cloud Community
Guardian1234
Contributor
Contributor

When is an Operating System "not" an Operating System?

Since I'm new to the vSphere 5, perhaps someone can enlighten me. The answers will pretty much determine whether or not my IT dept makes the decision to move towards generic PC virtualization w/VMWare or stick with the various "NIX platform's form of virtualization techniques, IE Solaris Zones, AIX Micro Partitioning, etc.

Q1: Is the ESXi-v5 Hypervisor considered an OS? Or is it a bare-metal application that presents/manages a given VM to a guest OS.

Q2: Once booted, is the env that I log into (as root) via TSM, SSH, etc persistent or non-persistent, IE: if I make changes to files such as owner/group/mode, will they persist from reboot to reboot or just simply disappear/reset on the next boot cycle?

From what I've read, it appears that some file changes (internal to the file such as text/configuration changes) will persist, even though it appears that the ESXi-v5 server is running 100% from memory. For example syslog.conf? But if I change the mode, owner etc will that also persist. At this point whether or not it breaks something to do so is not as important as the topic of persistence (at least that's what my management is concerned about).

Anybody?  A response (not just a read) would really be appreciated.

Thx.

0 Kudos
10 Replies
Troy_Clavell
Immortal
Immortal

Q1: Is the ESXi-v5 Hypervisor considered an OS? Or is it a bare-metal  application that presents/manages a given VM to a guest OS.

Yes, ESXi is an OS and a bare metal install

Q2: Once  booted, is the env that I log into (as root) via TSM, SSH, etc  persistent or non-persistent, IE: if I make changes to files such as  owner/group/mode, will they persist from reboot to reboot or just simply  disappear/reset on the next boot cycle?

this question can be a yes for both.  A good article below may help

http://www.virtuallyghetto.com/2011/08/how-to-persist-configuration-changes-in.html