VMware Cloud Community
JethroV
Contributor
Contributor
Jump to solution

What to put in VMware vSphere Hypervisor (ESXi) 6.5.0d Default Gateway, Primary DNS Server, Alternate DNS Server ?

Hi,

I am new to server setups and I recently purchased VMWare vSphere Essentials Kit 6.5D and Windows Server 2016.  I plan to install VMware vSphere Hypervisor (ESXi) 6.5.0d on bare-metal  and create a virtual machine and install Windows Server 2016.

I have successfully installed VMware vSphere Hypervisor (ESXi) 6.5.0d on a desktop machine  by following several tutorials on the web but when I reached the part Configure Management Network > IPv4 Configuration, Set static IPv4 address and network configuration, I do not know how to identify my Default Gateway, Primary DNS Server, and Alternate DNS Server.  I searched online but I could not find an explanation on how they came up with the Gateway and DNS Servers,

I hope somebody could help me.

Thank you,

IJV

0 Kudos
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
wila
Immortal
Immortal
Jump to solution

Hi,

The answer is it depends. If you are installing ESXi in your local network, then it will be different as when installing in a datacenter.

When installing at a datacenter, the values to use are normally provided by the datacenter.

The gateway is the device in your network that gives you access to other networks.

Usually it is the IP address of the router/modem of your internet provider.

The DNS address to use is normally also the router/modem, but if you have a microsoft server already running then it might be the IP address of that server.

Alternatively you can use your internet provider of Google's DNS IP adresses, but in that case your server will not know about the DNS names of machines within your network.

If your local network is in the range of 192.168.0.x then usually the router IP address is 192.168.0.1

Hope this helps,

--

Wil