VMware Cloud Community
Joaq82
Contributor
Contributor

What ports need to be open to allow remote connections to my host machine?

Hello everyone,

I have a quick question to ask as I am a student and new to the whole world of virtualization. I have scoured the net in search of an answer to my question before I decided to come to this site and I think I can't find the answer because I maybe asking the question in the wrong way. Here is the task that I am trying to accomplish:

I have a WRT54G3G-ST Linksys Router in my home and I have host machine set up with a static address. I want to be able to access my VM's from a remote locations when I am out and about(StarBucks). When I am setting up port forwarding in my router, what ports do I need to have open. As or right now I am playing around with the DMZ option in my router, but from what I am reading that will expose my Host machine completely to the Internet and that is what I want, but is it the safest way to go about it or would just opening specific ports be best?

By the way, I will be connection to the Host via Vsphere Client only.

Thanks for any suggestions that can be provided.

Tags (3)
0 Kudos
3 Replies
JarryG
Expert
Expert

Check Required Ports  or Network Port Diagram.

BTW, I would NEVER espoxe ESXi management interface to the "wild". It was never meant to be! If you want to manage your host over public network, use VPN (either one of VM, or even better dedicated vpn-server/firewall).

_____________________________________________ If you found my answer useful please do *not* mark it as "correct" or "helpful". It is hard to pretend being noob with all those points! 😉
0 Kudos
Vmooze
Contributor
Contributor

Hi,

I see here that you have a LINKSYS WRT54G3G-ST router !!!     Did you try DD-wrt/openwrt ?

For accessing your Vhost from internet, you can access it directly, OR you can forward  RDP(port 3889) to a VM ip inside the host and run Vclient from it (faster responses).