VMware Cloud Community
mvanda
Contributor
Contributor

What CLI tool?

Hi All,

We have recently implemented a test vSphere 4 setup, running 3 ESXi 4 Servers. i am having some troubles with a Hard Drive on one server so some quick googling and reading vSphere Documentation lead me to learning I should use the VI Remote CLI. I went to download the remote CLI under the vSphere section and noticed I could only download the PowerCLI so I downloaded it. Confusion ensued, until I realised PowerCLI and Remote CLi are different products - now I finally have both installed.

My question is... Which one should I be using? From the first glance, looking through docs, it appears as though the remote CLI is more powerful but also appears as though PowerCLI is way more up to date and designed more for vSphere. I am very new to all this so please go easy on me. Thanks.

0 Kudos
2 Replies
lamw
Community Manager
Community Manager

PowerCLI uses Windows Powershell and requires Windows of course and more information can be found here: http://www.vmware.com/support/developer/windowstoolkit/

vCLI/RCLI uses Perl bindings and this can be installed on both Windows/Linux and more information can be found here: http://www.vmware.com/support/developer/vcli/

Note, to use these tools you have to have at least Foundation license else you will not be able to do much with these remote CLI tools other than querying information, as write operations require proper licensing.

=========================================================================

William Lam

VMware vExpert 2009

VMware ESX/ESXi scripts and resources at:

VMware Code Central - Scripts/Sample code for Developers and Administrators

If you find this information useful, please award points for "correct" or "helpful".

0 Kudos
admin
Immortal
Immortal

I would start with these questions:

1. Do you need to run it on Linux?

2. Do you need to do only ESX host configuration or do you need to manage other things like VMs, clusters, etc?