VMware Cloud Community
pcHobbyist
Contributor
Contributor

Virtual NAS inside EXSi server or a seperate Storage Server?

Hello,
I am new to the virtual computing world.  I plan to replace various computers, each with their own data, with a central server(s) setup.  I would like to do a single EXSi server with various virtual servers running inside- those include:

-NAS

-XBMC (application server)

-Windows (terminal server)

-Linux (various dist.) (terminal server)

For all computers in the house outside of the main (most power hungry) computer being simple thin clients.

I am worried however about the reliability and ease of use surrounding running a virtual NAS.  I am unsure how stable the setup will be, since i plan to connect to an outside array for storage.  I would rather not have a single array for the entire ESXi server.

I am trying to contain everything in one server to keep electric costs down and not have my server room (closet) putting out more heat than the AC can combat (exageration, i admit).

I am new to the the virtual world, so be gentle. Smiley Happy

Thank you,

Terry

0 Kudos
6 Replies
vmroyale
Immortal
Immortal

Hello and welcome to the communities.

Note: Discussion successfully moved from vSphere Storage Appliance to VMware ESXi 5

Just to be sure - Are you trying to use an external array for your ESXi host's datastores, and then use the NAS as a VM for your guests?

The biggest concern will likely be performance, but the requirements can be measured and tested. Other than that, the startup procedure just needs to be accounted for.

Brian Atkinson | vExpert | VMTN Moderator | Author of "VCP5-DCV VMware Certified Professional-Data Center Virtualization on vSphere 5.5 Study Guide: VCP-550" | @vmroyale | http://vmroyale.com
0 Kudos
pcHobbyist
Contributor
Contributor

Thanks for the response and the metaphorical welcome basket Smiley Happy .