VMware Cloud Community
seadorph
Contributor
Contributor
Jump to solution

VMware Installation Problem

Hello Geeks,

Please I need your help. I am pretty new to vmware so I decided to set up my home lab for practice.  I installed esxi 5.5 on my machine from a bootable dvd. After installation, I was unable to access the window desktop to be able to lunch the downloaded vclient. please help. Any imput will be appreciated,

Set up info:

Machine: Dell Poweredge 2950

windwos 2012 server R2 withh service pack1(original OS)

VMWare ESXi5.5 (Installed)

Thanks

Tags (2)
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
a_p_
Leadership
Leadership
Jump to solution

How exactly did you install ESXi? ESXi is usually installed directly on the hardware (i.e. wiping/re-formatting the installation disk), so a previous Windows installation may have been destroyed.

In order to access ESXi you need to install the vSphere Client on another Windows system and connect to the ESXi host over the network.

André

View solution in original post

5 Replies
a_p_
Leadership
Leadership
Jump to solution

How exactly did you install ESXi? ESXi is usually installed directly on the hardware (i.e. wiping/re-formatting the installation disk), so a previous Windows installation may have been destroyed.

In order to access ESXi you need to install the vSphere Client on another Windows system and connect to the ESXi host over the network.

André

seadorph
Contributor
Contributor
Jump to solution

Thanks for the response a.p. You are absolutely right. I just figured out after a long internet search.I never knew that after installing vmware, I will need a second computer to access it. Thanks again.

Also, please is it possible to access my vmware (host) remotely from outside the same netork using vclinet? DO I need additional installation for that or just ssh?

Thanks

0 Kudos
a_p_
Leadership
Leadership
Jump to solution