VMware Cloud Community
TopHatProductio
Hot Shot
Hot Shot
Jump to solution

VMware ESXi 6.5 Installation fails with Error

Dear Community,

Please bare with me, for I am new to hypervisor operation(s). As such, I may make simple mistakes along the way. I purchased a Dell Precision T7500 from a 3rd party recently, with the following specifications:

• CPU :: (1x6crs.) Intel Xeon X5650
  • RAM :: (6x2GB) 12GB DDR3

NOTE :: 3 active memory channels

• GPU :: (1x) nVIDIA GeForce GTX 550 Ti

(1x) nVIDIA GeForce GT 520

• SFX :: (1x) Creative 'SoundBlaster' Audigy 2
  • STR :: (1x) 4TB HDD

(1x) 500GB HDD

(1x) 320GB HDD

In addition to this, I should be receiving a CPU/RAM riser and a 2nd (identical) CPU in the mail in a few days/weeks. In that case, I'll have 2 of the same CPU in this workstation instead of one - and that will be the only thing changing. During the installation, I attempted to install ESXi to the 4TB HDD, to no avail. Here is a video of how my installation went:

ESXi Install Attempt :: Part I - YouTube

The final error that I arrive at is:

• Unable to successfully execute 'tryFormatDevice' after 3 tries

I've searched across Google, and have only arrived at one possible solution:

Expand the LUN (size?) from 8GB to 16GB.

Possibly related topic: ESX 6.5 is unable to format a partition when installing on iSCSI.

But, how does one expand/extend LUN? Is it in BIOS? Is it something that must be performed in the installer? Please help.

1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
TopHatProductio
Hot Shot
Hot Shot
Jump to solution

Okay. I've had silly moments before. But, nothing like this. I went on and tried changing the boot order in BIOS, just in case my workstation was trying to boot from the empty 4TB HDD. And sure enough, ESXi fired up - for once! Now, I'm trying to figure out how to remote connect to ESXi with vSphere client (Network config). Can't wait to get my first VM up and running Smiley Happy

View solution in original post

0 Kudos
27 Replies
daphnissov