VMware Cloud Community
sstremmel
Contributor
Contributor

VMware ESXi 4 Networking Question

I am new to ESXi. I have been using the free VMware Server for a while off and on, but the interface is different so I am having a problem with networking. If this is the wrong place to ask please let me know.

Here is the scenario:

ESXi 4 installed on a host with 2 physical NIC's on 2 different networks. I want the VM's that are on the private network to be able to access the public network.

eth0 = 128.249.65.X (public ip)

eth1 = 172.30.10.X (private ip)

I installed a VM (CentOS 5) and used the private network for the IP.

Here is what the vSphere Host > Configuration > Networking shows...

Virtual Switch : vSwitch0

-Virtual Machine Port Group -

Physical Adapters--

VM Network o----

o vmnic1 1000 Full (sees the public switch when I click the CDP icon)

| 1 virtual machine

| weili-sandbox (using 172.30.10.### configured through CentOS OS) o----

o

---VMkernel Port -

| Management Network

| vmk0 : 128.249.65.### o----

o

So, the management network that I access the host through vSphere is on the public network. The new VM is configured (through the OS) for the private network.

The vSphere diagram shows everything linked into the gray rectangle (vSwitch0?). The VMnetwork and the VM connect to the vSwitch that the host physical adapter

How can I get the VM to get to the other nodes on the private net that the host is connected to. Is there another vswitch that I need to add? Or do I need to add a new NIC (the host NIC connected to the private IP) to a new vSwitch for the private IP network? If I add

I just can't get this working or worked out in my head for some reason.

Any help would be appreciated. I feel like the answer is just on the tip of my tongue but I can't get it.

0 Kudos
7 Replies
beyondvm
Hot Shot
Hot Shot