VMware Cloud Community
TheKid7
Enthusiast
Enthusiast
Jump to solution

VMware CBT Data Corruption Fix Questions

VMware KB 2090639

I have very limited VM Management experience.  However, I am in charge of a Dell VRTX Server (3 Blades)(ESXi 5.1.0 Update 1)(Currently 13 Windows Server 2012 R2 VM's).

Last year, after receiving a notice of the possibility of CBT Corruption, I went through some of the steps given in Veeam's KB 1940.  I guess that I did not realize that ESXi needed to be patched first.  I went through the steps involving patching Veeam and manually Resetting all of the VM's.

How serious is this CBT issue?

I do have many VM's/partitions which are past the 128 GB size.

I have no experience with patching ESXi and using the CLI Interface.

Is it possible to patch my current ESXi 5.1.0 Update 1 without having to do a full ESXi version upgrade on each Blade.  If yes, what is an easy to understand procedure for installing the patch?

Are there any good Tutorials on using the CLI Interface?

I want to be able to fix everything without shutting down any of the VM's.

Thanks in Advance.

0 Kudos
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
TheKid7
Enthusiast
Enthusiast
Jump to solution

SOLVED.

After several Dell Webex sessions, totally at least 4 hours, the solution was determined to be downgrading the MEGARAID SAS drivers to the exact version that was installed by Dell originally.

I am in the process of Resetting CBT in each VM, followed by a Full Backup.

Thank you.

View solution in original post

0 Kudos
6 Replies
peetz
Leadership
Leadership
Jump to solution

Hello,

What type of vSphere license do you have?

Are these three servers managed by vCenter?

If yes: Can you use VMotion between the hosts? Have you installed and are able to use Update Manager to patch the hosts?

Andreas

Twitter: @VFrontDe, @ESXiPatches | https://esxi-patches.v-front.de | https://vibsdepot.v-front.de
0 Kudos
TheKid7
Enthusiast
Enthusiast
Jump to solution