VMware Cloud Community
krisdeluxe
Contributor
Contributor
Jump to solution

VMware Alerts, need help

Good Day,

I am new to VMware & have gotten my first sys admin job, I am alone, no other IT people here, so I need help.

I have a Proliant DL580 G5 acting as one of our ESXi hosts.

I see that there are some alerts, I have attached a pic, now my main concern first is the controller...Disk 4 says error, so do I replace disk 4? Or is it the controller that is bad & I only need to replace that? Or do I replace both?

I also have a battery alert but am not sure what to do about that, I also suppose that if I need to replace the battery & controller, then I have to power down the host...

If it is only the hard drive, can I just swap out the bad drive, and put in the new one? Or do I have to break the raid first, my understanding is that I should be able to just swap the drive and it will do the rest since it is RAID 5

Please help

Thank You.vmwarealerts.jpg

0 Kudos
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
a_p_
Leadership
Leadership
Jump to solution

If I interpret the screen shot correctly, you have two issue. A bad battery (if this is the original one for the G5 host, that's likely) and a failed HDD. Assuming you are using the Hot-Swappable 146GB SAS HDD's, you can replace the disk online, i.e.pull out the bad disk, wait for at least a minute or two for the controller to recognize it and then insert the new disk. The rebuild of the disk should start shortly after the new disk is in place. For the bad battery I don't think this can be done with the host powered on, so you better replace it with the host powered off to avoid any risks.

André

View solution in original post

0 Kudos
27 Replies
weinstein5
Immortal
Immortal
Jump to solution

Welcome to the Community - Before giving any direction on how to repond we will need more information on the errors being thrown - What version of ESXi are you running?

I am  also moving the question to a more approriate forum