VMware Cloud Community
milinkothari
Contributor
Contributor

VMWare build suggetion!!!!

Hi, I want to building following IPTel LAB lab, looking for suggetion or best practise, i have never used vmware before.

1 publisher, 1 subscriber, 1 uccx, 1 backup/storage server/network management(windows), 2 x unity connection(both publisher for digital networking).

I am using following hardware:

asus motherboard p7p55 lx

intel core i7 860

8 GB ram 1600mhz

1tb hdd

onboard realtek nic(it is not supported by esxi, i just found out)

Also looking for suggetion like how many nic i need to use for this lab and which make of dual nic supported by esxi.

Any help will be highly appriciated.

0 Kudos
9 Replies
malaysiavm
Expert
Expert

I will suggest to you search through the VMWare HCL list for the entry level servers and storage. This will simplify the entire process for you

Craig

vExpert 2009 & 2010

Malaysia VMware Communities -

Craig vExpert 2009 & 2010 Netapp NCIE, NCDA 8.0.1 Malaysia VMware Communities - http://www.malaysiavm.com
0 Kudos
xalba
Contributor
Contributor

Hi,

I also have a Realtek NIC and managed to install ESXi 4.0.0 Update1 customized with the NIC driver and SSH access to a 1GiB pendrive. Now I can boot my computer with ESXi. To make it I followed this two:

• This one gives an overview:

• This one gives step by step procedure, is great: (look down in this link, step by step with screenshots)

The customization script is prepared for systems using apt-get but detects when the system uses a diferent package management system and asks for the installation command. I was using Mandriva 2010.0 so I typed command urpmi as the package management system, the script verified all the required tools and installed the ones missing using urpmi. It was awesome.

Enjoy it.

PS: Thank you Varazir.

0 Kudos
Varazir
Contributor
Contributor

Your welcome.

Cool to see that that part of the script works as I haven't tested it my self to any extends.

//Daniel

0 Kudos