VMware Cloud Community
FrankGrey
Contributor
Contributor

VMWare ESXi Installation Failing - Help!

Hello,

Although I have used VMWare Workstation in the past, I am new to VMWare ESXi, so please bear with me on this. I will try to be as detailed as possible. I recently purchased components to a server that I would like to try installing ESXi on as a test bed before rolling it out to other hardware. Unfortunately, things are not going as I would have hoped, ESXi 3.5 is not installing. The message I am getting is not terribly helpful either - something along the lines of required hardware not being detected. But let's start at the beginning, with the hardware:

- Motherboard: Supermicro X8DTi

- Processors: 2x Intel Xeon E5520

- Memory: 6x 2GB Crucial DDR3-1333 ECC Unbuffered SDRAM

- Hard Drive: 1x SATA Hard drive (Western Digital branded, 640GB - Caviar Black series)

- Optical Drive: 1x SATA Optical Drive (LG branded)

- USB Mouse/USB Keyboard/LCD monitor plugged in to VGA-OUT on motherboard

Basically, my procedure was:

1. Connect all hardware, make sure it passes POST and verify everything is seen in BIOS

2. Put DVD containing an image of VMWare ESXi 3.5 in to DVD drive and watch it load, then fail to install.

Interestingly, the failure message states I should write down hardware information before asking for help, but it doesn't seem like something worth posting here... it incorrectly detected my motherboard, and also generated a serial number of something like "1234567890". I thought posting the actual hardware in the box might help more.

Any assistance you could give would be greatly appreciated.

Tags (4)
0 Kudos
23 Replies
filbo
Enthusiast
Enthusiast

Dave.Mishchenko wrote:

If you enable the sticky bit on the file - i.e chmod +t 72.ipmi then ESXi will back up the file to the system state then you don't have to worry about the system firmware files (which would be replaced the next time you patch your host).

This is correct but incomplete...