VMware Cloud Community
mikedlong
Contributor
Contributor

VMUpdate Patches on a completely Closed Network QUESTION *Newbie*

I'm a newbie so please be gentle.

I have 3 ESXi servers running 4.0 Build 208167. I'm running vSphere on a Windows 2k3 Management Server. I need to update all ESXi servers to the most recent update 2 however; this network can NEVER TOUCH THE INTERNET.

Management server has 2 local drives. No IIS, no APACHE.

I'm getting confused reading the documentation about VUM and then when I look to the vCenter Update manager Plug-In itself. I have a space for local repository but no matter what I put in there it fails. c:\VMWAREUPDATES, e:\VMWAREUDPATES

How do I apply these ZIP patches that I've downloaded, burned to CD, and then copied to the update directories as noted above? Any assistance would be grand, I will continue searching through the documentation while I wait on an answer **please have an answer**... Thanks,

Mike Long

0 Kudos
9 Replies
a_p_
Leadership
Leadership

Take a look at http://kb.vmware.com/kb/1021695 on how to import zip bundles. Another option is to install the Update Manager Download Service on a PC which has access to the internet and export/import the downloaded patches (see VUM Administration Guide)

André

0 Kudos
mikedlong
Contributor
Contributor

I'll try the first one however; I can't connect through a proxy. There is no Internet connection at all with this network. Think of it as a "sterile" environment. So proxy option is no option... Will let you know in the morning how the first one goes...

Thanks

Mike long

0 Kudos
ThompsG
Virtuoso
Virtuoso

Hi,