VMware Cloud Community
jungjedi
Contributor
Contributor

VMGuest needs access to two different subnets in HA

Hello all, I am new to VMWare and trying to get up to speed on wrapping my brain around new concepts. I have an HA environment with 2 hosts. Each Host has a 4 port 1GB NIC for usage for Guests/Management /vMotion. I also have some constraints. All of my Guests operate on the same VLAN. I have to simulate a separate subnet for an external facing VM (Which needs access to both subnets). Finally I need to maintain vMotion and Management. I fully expect the VM that requires both subnets to also be my big hog for bandwidth.

Nic1- vMotion & Management (VMKernal—internal subnet ---with Fixed IP address)

Nic2- VMGuests for all other Guests (internal subnet access )

Nic3- VMGuest Bandwidth Hog (Internal subnet access)

Nic4- VMGuest Bandwidth Hog (External facing subnet)

Is this an acceptable setup for an HA ESXi host with these constraints? Do I need to put up some more info for some informed help?

0 Kudos
6 Replies
iw123
Commander
Commander

Hi,

Without vlans you're a bit limited in terms of what you can do as you'll need to dedicate each physical nic to a particular subnet, which you have detailed. The problem with that is that there is no redundancy in terms of your management and vmotion networks, or for any of the vm networks. It depends on your environment as to whether this is important.

*Please, don't forget the awarding points for "helpful" and/or "correct" answers
0 Kudos
Gkeerthy
Expert
Expert

are you created 4 vswtiches with 1 pnic each? then this setup is a bad one. There is no redundancy in the network and you facing single point failure.

http://communities.vmware.com/message/2081240#2081240

http://communities.vmware.com/message/2081040#2081040

refer the above threads, where you will get an idea how to design the network.