VMware Cloud Community
HWMatt
Contributor
Contributor

VM NIC Inconsistent Behavior Issues

Hello -

I'm new to ESXi, but will try to be as thorough as possible. My format will be to show the environment, cite the problem, then below cite the troubleshooting steps already performed to help you help me! Smiley Happy

So, I have 1 ESXi host, (HP DL380 G6)... It is running 13 VM's on it, newly implmented. The subnet it belongs to has ~50 addresses, with another 18 physical desktops in that subnet. The VM's are running XP SP3 32bit, 60gb, VMCI, and each has VMXNET3 adapter installed. The host has 4 NIC's..all hooked up with 1000/Full hard coded. Default settings largely, vmnic0/1/2/3 are all on vswitch0. They do plug into Cisco gear, but port security has been configured to a high limit (30), and no errors are showing on any of those 4 ports. (2 on 2 separate switches)

So I have all these VM's running, all identical image, and configuration....which are generally performing well...except one thing, IP acquisition.

The 13 are all identical, and some inconsistently seem to return with "limited or no connectivity" - when this happens...it pretty much trashes the VM. Rebooting or renewing IP..it's no help.

What does sometimes help, is replacing or adding a NIC. I'm normally using the VMXNET3 adapter...but have also tried a little with other adapters. These VM's are running 32bit XP SP3.

The part that is weird, so I can assign a static IP, and it seems to recover, but only appears to, it doesn't actually have any communication. Then, regardless of static or dynamic, basically the problem is that NIC1 will go to crap, so I power the VM down, remove the NIC, and power back up (to make sure the VM guest OS registers the change), then power down and add a NIC, and it still won't work. But sometimes I add a NIC2...and it will work..but only when both NIC's are present.