VMware Cloud Community
Fatman2142
Contributor
Contributor
Jump to solution

VM IP not accessible from outside network

Hi Guys

This maybe a complete newbe question,but I have been messing round with ESXi host and come across a problem that i have spent the last 2 days troubleshooting.I have a ESXi box running in my room thats attached to my network..what i am trying to do is make it so that the VMs running on this machine is accessible to my PC outside of the ESXi box...the problem is that i can't RDP any VMs from outside as they are being administrated by the VMswitch..

I have used wireshark to determine the Ip source when i ping my PC from the VM and found that it has been given the static ip of the ESXI server..

Does anyone know of a work around? I would like to assign a static ip to the VM so i can use it as FTP server for my network outside of the ESXI box

Thanks in advance!!

0 Kudos
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
golddiggie
Champion
Champion
Jump to solution

Once you've assigned the additional NIC(s) to the VM traffic you should be good to go.

I use RDP among other modes, to manage different servers on my LAN. If you want to have the FTP server accessible from outside the LAN (such as from a different location) then you'll want to use port forwarding on your router to that VM's IP address. Look at the free services from www.dyndns.com to make that happen via an url instead of having to worry about your public IP address changing. I use their services (free ones for now) to access both my ftp server and web server (two different Linux servers that are VM's on my ESXi host). I have RDP set up for my DC and vCenter servers specifically so that I can connect to them even if other methods are not functioning properly.