VMware Cloud Community
rbsskalssauka
Contributor
Contributor

VDP snapshot leftovers after vdp data store power failure:

Hi.

I had a power failure and data store where VDP 5.1. appliance resided was powered off while creating a scheduled backup. After that i could not create backups anymore and after some blind tweaks vdp appliance did not start anymore. There was a problem with snapshot disks it could not open anymore, so i removed those disks but as i'm not a vmware professional i'm not sure if i should delete corresponding files. VDP started up but when i initiated a backup it was complaining that "operation failed due to existing snapshot". How can i know if i can delete those vmdk files left from snapsots? Can i just assume that if i don't see any snapshots in snapshot manager and snapshot vmdk file has modification date some hours or days back in the past then i can just delete them safely?

Sorry for my English.

16 Replies
continuum
Immortal
Immortal

The snapshot manager  is as reliable as the oracle from Delphi - in other words - dont trust it !!!
To find out which vmdks are not used at the moment read the latest vmware.log - vmdks mentioned in lines that also contain "disklib" are in use.
If unsure - move all the vmdks that you suspect as unused to a new directory. If the VM then can boot again you can delete them

rbsskalssauka
Contributor
Contributor

But if i have only one snapshot vmdk on each virtual machine and it's modification date is in the past isn't it enough to assume that it's not used (i have also only one vdp appliance)? I just think that it could be quite time consuming for me to read those log files.

0 Kudos
continuum
Immortal
Immortal

ok - if yo udo not have the 2 minutes to inspect the logs then move the candidates for deletion into a subfolder. If you can do that while the VM is running they are not used by the current state of the VM.

0 Kudos
john23
Commander
Commander