VMware Cloud Community
Lysinger
Contributor
Contributor

Upgraded from ESXi 3.5 to 4.0 and VMFS 4 to 7 conversion is taking a really really long time

I'm a networking guy by trade, so please go easy on me.

Problem:

Moving VMs from one disk to my new raid array storage is taking 10 hours a VM. 3 are thin client provisioned and would be 250GB in size if they were thick provisioned. Once I copied a few over and filled my new raid array, I learned that I still need to convert the VMs from VMFS 4 to 7 or they won't fire up. The standalone converter says it will take 1 minute to convert (for hours and hours).

I tried to convert one VM on the raid array and stopped it after 12 hours. I am now trying one on the SATA storage for the original drive with the raid storage as its destination and I have had one going for 36 hours now and it still says one minute to convert.

Is this normal?

If it is, I can live with it, but is there a way to get any sort of status on the conversion? Looking at the datastore browser, the 250GB file was made pretty quickly, but the conversion still says running.

Will 4.1 be any faster and would it be better to upgrade to it before converting my next 250GB VM?

All help is greatly appreciated.

Scenario:

ESXi 3.5 white box.

Core 2 Duo E8400 4gb ram with one SATA hard disk.

Slow once 2 VMs are running and slow as dirt once 3 VMS or more are fired up due to single disk drive. Otherwise ran great.

Bought an LSI8308 RAID card and 3 new 500gb drives. Configured a virtual disk with RAID 5 default settings

Installed ESXi 4 on the raid array.

Learned how to use the datastore browser and add the VMs

Found out I have to convert from VMFS 4 to 7. Also found out that thin provisioned clients will copy or convert to thick when moving to different disk block sizes. No biggie, I can buy 2 more drives and get more disk performance to boot.

0 Kudos
6 Replies
athlon_crazy
Virtuoso
Virtuoso

I'm a networking guy by trade, so please go easy on me.