VMware Cloud Community
randophbar
Enthusiast
Enthusiast
Jump to solution

Understanding CPU and Cores

Hello, I am new to ESXi so I’m trying to understand my environment and the best practices when building VM for my company. I have 8 total Nodes in the cluster with the below in each:

​CPU

Cores 28 CPUs x 2.59 GHz Processor Type Intel(R) Xeon(R) Gold 6132 CPU @ 2.60GHz

Sockets 2

Cores per Socket 14

Logical Processors 56

​So the most I can give a heavily used VM is 14 cores and 14 CPU’s? They asked me to build a DB VM with 56 CPUs. Thanks in advance.

0 Kudos
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
scott28tt
VMware Employee
VMware Employee
Jump to solution

Sort of - you could also allocate 1 vCPU with 56 vCores, or 2 vCPUs each with 28 vCores.

This is worth reading: Virtual Machine vCPU and vNUMA Rightsizing - Rules of Thumb - VMware VROOM! Blog

I would also be asking if the VM really needs 56 total vCores - many would consider a best practice of allocating the smallest number needed to achieve the desirable level of performance, rather than allocating all that is physically possible.

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Although I am a VMware employee I contribute to VMware Communities voluntarily (ie. not in any official capacity)
VMware Training & Certification blog

View solution in original post

0 Kudos
4 Replies
scott28tt
VMware Employee
VMware Employee
Jump to solution

This follows on from your previous thread: Error when trying to build 64vcore

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Although I am a VMware employee I contribute to VMware Communities voluntarily (ie. not in any official capacity)
0 Kudos
randophbar
Enthusiast
Enthusiast
Jump to solution