VMware Cloud Community
micfou
Contributor
Contributor

Unable to start vm?

Hi,

I am new to ESXi and have been trying to load a

previously configured VM into our ESXi server. It is loaded with Linux Suse 10 Server. I am able to run the vm

with no problems in VMware Player and Server but it will not play in

ESXi. I have tried using the convert tool to no avail. Once the files

are copied and I try to fire up the VM, I get an error stating that the

wrong disk type (scsi) is installed or that there is a missing snapshot or it

is just unable to open the file. Any thoughts on what is wrong? Thanks

for your help.

Mic

Tags (3)
0 Kudos
8 Replies
kegwell
Enthusiast
Enthusiast

You used the VMware Converter?

0 Kudos
micfou
Contributor
Contributor

Yes and I get the same kind of message. I am uloading the new files now to reproduce the error to assist in the investigation.

0 Kudos
micfou
Contributor
Contributor

Here is the error message I am getting:

0 Kudos
wpatton
Expert
Expert

micfou,

Are you using the vCenter Converter plug-in or Converter Standalone. If Standalone, ensure you update to the latest version.

https://www.vmware.com/tryvmware/?p=converter

Also, just to be certain, you are importing the files to an ESX/i 4 system not a 3.5 host, correct?

If you found this or other information useful, please consider awarding points for "Correct" or "Helpful".

*Disclaimer: VMware Employee* If you found this or other information useful, please consider awarding points for "Correct" or "Helpful".
0 Kudos
micfou
Contributor
Contributor

I did use the Standalone converter and downloaded the latest version. Yes, it is an esxi 4 system and not esxi 3.5. I have a server with Esxi4 loaded on it and am using vsphere client to control the content. I have been able to load other vms that I created but for some reason this vm (which I did not create) is giving me issues.

Mic

0 Kudos
wpatton
Expert
Expert

micfou,