VMware Cloud Community
reach4aditya
Contributor
Contributor

Unable to create data store esxi 5.1.0

Hi all,

I am new to vmware esxi. So pardon me for may be a lame question.?!

I installed esxi 5.1.0 on my server DELL T110 II the specifications are

Server type: DELL Power Edge T110 II

CPU: intel xeon E31220 @ 3.10 GHz

RAM: 4GiB

PERC 300 raid controler

NOTE: I have only one Hard Disk so actualy raid is not possible. I dont need it too at this point of time so i have configured it as non raid but the hard disk is connected via raid controller. to mother board if I am not wrong.

What I did: Installed ESXI 5.1.0 on pen drive since it was not detecting my local hard disk then too.

Installation was successful, I was able to connect via client.

What I need: I need 2 servers on this esxi basically for development purpose, we are small team of developers who caters smb industries.

So, When I try to create a new virtual machine I am unable to create a data store because I am not able to see the Hard Drive at all.

I have attached screen shot for your reference. Please guide me for the same.

Thanks in advance

Aditya

VM1.jpgVM2.jpg

0 Kudos
4 Replies
wealvescabral
Enthusiast
Enthusiast

Hi,

First of all, you could check VMware Hardware Compatibilty List here:

http://www.vmware.com/resources/compatibility/search.php

You also can check another thread related, but from ESX4 on the same server model:

http://communities.vmware.com/message/1410533

Wellington Cabral | Mark it as helpful or correct if my suggestion is useful.
Sreejesh_D
Virtuoso
Virtuoso

Hi Aditya,

welcome to communities!!

I am afraid the Perc controller  you have is not supported with ESXi. Is it Perc s300? if so its not supported with any of ESX/ESXi version. Only option remaining will be changing the controller.

You can find more details here.

http://kb.vmware.com/selfservice/microsites/search.do?language=en_US&cmd=displayKC&externalId=200790...

reach4aditya
Contributor
Contributor